13 Malawians who are aspiring to contest as presidential candidates in this year’s tripartite elections have collected nomination papers.

Malawi Electoral Commission has said some of them are president professor peter mutharika of the ruling democratic progressive party, Vice president Dr Saulos Chilima of UTM party, former president Dr Joyce Banda of Peoples Party, former vice president Dr Cassim Chilumpha of Tikonze Peoples Movement, Dr Lazarus Chakwera leader of the main opposition Malawi Congress Party, Atupele Muluzi of United Democratic Front, son of former president Dr Bakili Muluzi.

Chief Elections officer of MEC Sam Alufandika said four people have also shown interest to contest for the office of president on May 21 2019.

“They are Henry Jailos Mbewe, Smart Swira, Pastor Dr Baxter Boyd Natulu, Peter DSD Kuwani,” Alufandika said.

He also said Mbakuwaku Movement for Development and Dr Chris Daza, Democratic Peoples Congress (DEPECO) have collected the nomination papers.

Alufandika said the submission of nomination papers will be held from 4 to 8 February 2019.