Voter registration third phase commences

As the third phase of voter registration begins today in Lilongwe Malawi Electoral Commission MEC has urged residents to register in large numbers.

Speaking to radio Islam, Chief Executive Officer for MEC Sam Alfandika said the city dwellers should find time off their busy schedules to register as early as possible.

“There has been an improvement in the number of registrants in the second phase of the registration which covered the districts of Ntchisi, Mchinji, Nkhotakota and Dowa,” Alfandika said.

Malawi will hold tripartite elections on May 21 2019 through which voters will elect the president, Members of Parliament and Councillors.

President professor Peter Mutharika of ruling Democratic Progressive party, Dr Lazarus Chakwera of the main opposition Malawi Congress party, Peoples Party president Dr Joyce Banda the former Malawi president, Dr Saulos Chilima the vice president who is leading United Transformation party and Atupele Muluzi of United Democratic Front have shown interest to contest on the presidential ticket.

Share This