Four newly appointed judges of Supreme Court of Appeal have been sworn in

President Dr Lazarus Chakwera appointed Justices Sylvester Kalembera, Dingiswayo Madise, Rowland Mbvundula and Dorothy NyaKaunda Kamanga on June 10, 2022.

Speaking soon after the ceremony, President Chakwera assured the nation that his administration will never intervene in decisions made by judges’ even if it’s against his administration.

“The position is not for the faint hearted therefore they should to have courage,” Chakwera

The president has since encouraged the newly sworn in judges of Supreme Court of Appeal to abide by the constitution when discharging their duties

Earlier, Director of Communications at State House Sean Kampondeni said President Chakwera decided to start the swearing in ceremony an hour earlier to pave way for Vice President Saulos Chilima’s public address which was slated for 10:00 am.

In her remarks, Dr Janet Banda deputy Secretary to Office of President and Cabinet said section one subsection two gives powers to president to appoint judges of high court and Supreme Court of Appeal.