The Public Appointments Committee of parliament has weekend confirmed six heads of mission.

According to chairperson of the committee Joyce Chitsuro they have confirmed the appointment of Dr Thomas John Bisika to London, Charles Msosa to Adis Ababa, Ethiopia, Dr Agnes Mary Chimbiri to New York, Stella Hauya Ndau to Pretoria South Africa, Ms Esmie Janet Chombo to Washington DC, and Allan Joseph Chimtedza to Beijing.

Chitsuro says her committee believes that the stain that has been brought by the expelled commissioners will be a thing of the past.

“What has happened of course is embarrassing and is a sorry situation for the nation so we wouldn’t expect these people to go and do the same thing, am sure they have learnt through the mistake made by the others”, she said.

She says during the interviews the individuals have shown that are capable and experienced for the job.

Chitsuro said, “During the interview we were advising each one of them to say, when you go there please make sure you behave because you are representing Malawi, so we expect you to do your job professionally”.

President Dr Lazarus Chakwera says he expects the newly confirmed   Malawi’s representatives to make the country proud.

Chakwera was speaking in reaction to the expulsion of Malawi’s diplomats from South Africa where he revealed that his administration had already served all the bad apples in the country’s foreign missions with recall letters before their expulsion.

“Their conduct does not represent the values of my administration and the Malawian people nor does it reflect the cordial and warm bilateral reactions between the two countries”, Chakwera said.

He says the selection process was been thorough, legal, meticulous and objective prioritizing national interests.

The Malawi leader added the country has departed from the past practice of filling the countries embassies with cronies without due process or diligence.