Presidential taskforce on Covid 19 has issued a travel ban to people coming from four countries to prevent third wave

Minister of Health who is also Co chairperson of the taskforce Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda announced the ban during the Covid 19 update where she indicated that travelers to and from India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Brazil have been banned with immediate effect.

Kandodo Chiponda however said medical, diplomatic and other essential travels will be allowed.

She added that travelers are however expected to produce a negative PCR based Covid 19 test results or certificate of a test conducted not more than 3 days before arrival in the country.

“Those who may return from these countries must quarantine in a hotel for 14 days at their own cost,” Khumbize Chiponda

The ban follows a surge in corona virus cases in the reported countries as new variants of the disease have emerged.

Reacting to the development, health commentators Professor Adamson Muula and Maziko Matemba have hailed government for the ban.

Speaking in separate interviews, Professor Muula, a public health specialist from College of Medicine said “there was need for government to critically consider some of the measures adding self quarantine has proved inefficient in adherence.”

In his remarks Malawi’s health ambassador Maziko Matemba has echoed Professor Muula’s sentiments saying government should reconsider some of the directives.